Being Transformed

Started with Thailand, now on to life!

Project evaluation! 19 March, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — meggshe @ 5:59 pm

Note: there may be problems with the jar file. If it doesn’t work properly (I.e. Either the pictures do not show up or the buttons do nothing) then please comment on this post telling me what the problem is and what computer and browser you are using.

So, I need to get around 10-20 people (at least) to evaluate my project. It’s a carbon footprint calculator/tracker thing…Basically it’s supposed to be quite interesting and easy to use. So I need people to run it and let me know what they think of it.

The idea behind this system is to track your carbon emissions. This version is not able to store data between sessions, but the final system will be able to, and that’s when the blue footprint will drastically change size. You can test this version in a single session to see if you can get a small or large footprint, but you won’t be able to get it a lot smaller or bigger – because it’s only looking at a single days data. Also just be aware that because this is not the final system, it doesn’t look quite as good as I would like it to…

All you need to do is download the file:
CarbonTracker

(you just need to wait 45 seconds then click on regular download)

Run it, as many times as you want, and you can either answer the questions properly or just make it up…Then once you’ve played about with it, fill in this questionnaire:

Software Evaluation

Please fill in the questionnaire properly, and don’t be afraid to slate the software! The final software will be better then this one, and will actually save your data between sessions.

Both of these activities are completely anonymous, and I will have absolutely no way of tracing who wrote what. Although the software asks for a username, it does not store the data anywhere!

 

2 Responses to “Project evaluation!”

  1. Adrian Says:

    HI Meg,
    Sorry it doesn’t work on my computer. NEC, Browser Firefox.
    The download asks me to “save” it or “open” it but either way, I end up with lots of files in a zip folder. Not one of these does anything.

    I also do not like the poker webpage that appears at the same time

    Thanks
    ADrian

  2. meggshe Says:

    Hi Adrian,

    Thanks for letting me know. I have no idea why it’s doing that, apart from possibly a problem with the downloading.

    The poker webpage is not of my choice – I don’t like it either! It’s just a feature of the website I’m using to host.

    Thanks,
    Meggie


Leave a Reply

